According to the Wawasan Open University (WOU) Constitution, the Board of Governors (BOG) is the governing, policy-making and monitoring body of the university.  The BOG provides strategic planning-oversight, promotes efficient and effective management, develops external and global links, and ensures the implementation of the university’s constitution, laws and policies.  The functions of the BOG and the university’s Senate are stated clearly in the WOU Constitution, in exercising, separately and jointly, the powers of the university.  The BOG appoints the Chief Executive of the university who is also called the Vice Chancellor.

The BOG consists of a Chairman appointed by Wawasan Open University Sdn Bhd (WOUsb) (the Company incorporated for the establishment of WOU); all members of the WOUsb Board of Directors; the Chief Executive/Vice Chancellor; one professor of the university elected by the Senate; and two persons from within or outside the university with requisite knowledge and experience, appointed by WOUsb.

Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon
Chairman of Wawasan Education Foundation, previously Federal Minister (2009 – 2013), Chief Minister of Penang (1990 – 2008), Penang Chief Minister’s Political Secretary (1986 – 1990), Member of Parliament (1982 – 1986), Lecturer and Deputy Dean of Education, Universiti Sains Malaysia (1975 – 1982).

Members of WOUSB Board

Dato’ Seri Stephen Yeap Leong Huat
Chairman of Wawasan Open University Sdn Bhd, Deputy Chairman of Wawasan Education Foundation, Chairman of Heng Lee Group of Companies, Former Director of CIMB Bank Group, Director of Disted Pulau Pinang Sdn Bhd, Founder and Executive Advisor of Penang Chinese Clan Council

Tan Sri Andrew Sheng Len Tao
Pro-Chancellor, University of Bristol; Distinguished Fellow, Asia Global Institute, University of Hong Kong; Chairman, International Advisory Board of George Town Institute of Open and Advanced Studies of Wawasan Open University

Dato’ Seri Chet Singh  
Director, Penang Institute; Founder General Manager, Penang Development Corporation (1971 – 1992), former Senator (1995 – 2000)

Mr Loo Choo Teng 
Director of Wawasan Education Foundation, Director of Disted Pulau Pinang Sdn Bhd, Director of Heng Lee Group

Mr Chia Loong Thye  
Legal Advisor, Wawasan Open University; Partner of Rosli Dahlan Saravana Advocates & Solicitors

Datuk Lim Si Pin
Director for Flexiroam Sdn Bhd (listed on ASX Australia); formerly Council Member of Kuala Lumpur City Council

Ms Annie Khor Seow Keow
Chief Information Officer, Schenker Logistics (M) Sdn Bhd

Ms Janice Yeap Liew Kee
Chief Executive Officer, Heng Lee Group of Companies (as Alternate to Dato’ Seri Stephen Yeap)

Chief Executive & Vice Chancellor

Professor Dr Lily Chan
Former Deputy President of the National University of Singapore (NUS) and CEO, NUS Enterprise

One Professor Elected by the University Senate 

Two Members with Requisite Knowledge and Experience 

Dato’ Dr Freezailah Che Yeom 
Former Chairman, Malaysian Timber Certification Council

Emeritus Professor Dato’ Dr Wong Tat Meng  
Second Vice Chancellor of Wawasan Open University (2009 – 2012), Former President of Asia Association of Open Universities (AAOU)



We use cookies to give you the best experience.