WOU announces honorary degree recipients

Three accomplished individuals from the education and banking sector will be conferred with Honorary Degrees by Wawasan Open University during a Special Convocation that is set to take place in Kuala Lumpur on June 16th.

In making the announcement at a press conference at the main campus, Wawasan Education Foundation (WEF) Chairman Dato’ Seri Stephen Yeap stated that Tun Dr. Lim Keng Yaik, the Chancellor of Wawasan Open University (WOU), will preside over the conferment ceremony.

Dato' Seri Stephen Yeap makes the announcement as Tan Sri Emeritus Prof Gajaraj Dhanarajan looks on.


WOU will confer the Honorary Doctor of Business degree on Dato’ Sri Nazir Razak in recognition of his contributions to the banking industry, both locally and regionally, as well as to society, state and nation. Dato’ Sri Nazir is the Group Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of CIMB Group, and Deputy Chairman of CIMB Bank, CIMB Islamic and CIMB Investment Bank.

Meanwhile leading historian and scholar, Emeritus Prof Wang Gungwu, will be awarded the Honorary Doctor of Laws degree.He is currently a University Professor (since 2007) and Chairman of the East Asian Institute and the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy at the National University of Singapore. He is also Chairman of the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies.

Prof Gungwu.


And the third recipient is WOU’s very own Mr. R. Padmanathan or ‘Paddy’ as he is known to colleagues. He had served as the University’s founding Registrar (Aug 2005-Sept 2006) and Secretary to the WOU Council (2006-2011) – and even now, continues to lend his administrative services to WOU.

Paddy will be conferred with the Honorary Master of Administration degree in recognition of his long-term service and significant contributions in the area of university administration and organisation, first in Universiti Sains Malaysia, then in WOU.

Mr Padmanathan.


Dato’ Seri Stephen highlighted that the three recipients were chosen for their lifelong dedication, commitment, contributions and achievements in their respective areas of specialisation, in the banking or education industry.

He remarked that the University is proud and happy to be associated with the three highly respected individuals through the award of the Honorary Degrees. “Their wisdom and vast professional experience can in one way or another help Wawasan Open University in its mission to increase access and bring quality and affordable education to all citizens, in particular the working adults of Malaysia,” he added.

The President and central committee members of Parti Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia, Vice Chancellors and Presidents of institutions of higher learning, and ambassadors/high commissioners of foreign missions in Kuala Lumpur, are among those expected to attend the special convocation.

The press conference on the conferment was co-chaired by Tan Sri Emeritus Prof Gajaraj Dhanarajan, Chairman of WOU’s Board of Governors, and attended by members of the Senate and Management Board of WOU.

The public can follow the Special Convocation to be held at Dewan Cempaka, Menara PGRM in Cheras, Kuala Lumpur, live on the URL link, https://woucast.wou.edu.my


On Key

Related Posts

Posted by Selva
November 27, 2023

Acclaimed Malaysian archaeologist and DBA graduates at WOU Convocation

WOU has recognised the contributions of Malaysia’s eminent...

Read More
Peng Lin
Posted by Peng Lin
November 21, 2023

WOU partners with Saylor Academy to expand learning opportunities

Wawasan Open University (WOU) has entered into a...

Read More
Peng Lin
Posted by Peng Lin
November 17, 2023
Peng Lin
Posted by Peng Lin
October 31, 2023

WOU students glad to do their part for environment

On 21 October 2023, a mangrove tree planting...

Read More
We use cookies to give you the best experience.